Suh Heads Nebraska Hall of Fame Class

Outland, Lombardi, Nagurski and Bednarik award winner Ndamukong Suh headlines a distinguished class of eight Huskers who will be joining the Nebraska Football Hall of Fame in 2010, according to the University of Nebraska sports information office.

In addition to Suh, a 2009 All-American who became the first defensive player in history to be named the AP National Player of the Year, the 2010 Hall of Fame class includes former Huskers Dan Alexander, Steve Lindquist, Todd Millikan, Ed Periard, Bob Pickens, Carlos Polk and Chris Spachman.

The new class of Nebraska Football Hall of Fame members will be inducted on Friday, Sept. 3, before being honored on the field during Nebraska’s game with Western Kentucky at Memorial Stadium on Saturday, Sept. 4. Suh is not expected to attend the festivities because of his NFL commitments, but he will be honored at a future date.

From the state college ranks, Doane College’s Mike Sallier and Nebraska Wesleyan’s Noland Urban will join the former Husker inductees in 2010. The Hall will also recognize former Nebraska Chancellor Clifford Hardin with its Presidents Award, while David and Peggy Sokol will receive its Clarence E. Swanson Meritorious Service Award. Jon and Joyanne Van Bloom will be honored with the Lyell Bremser Special Merit Award.

The Nebraska Football Hall of Fame is sponsored by the Nebraska Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame. The College Football Hall of Fame opened in South Bend, Ind., in 1995.

Posted on July 15, 2010, in Ndamukong Suh. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: