Where’s Pierre Allen on Preseason all-Conference Team?

There were no surprises in the preseason all-Big 12 football team, although the case could be made that senior Nebraska defensive end Pierre Allen is the most underrated player in the conference.

Allen got the snub despite coming off a very good junior season.

Heading into 2010 Allen is Nebraska’s third-leading returning tackler from 2009, when he had 51 total tackles, five sacks, 12 tackles for a loss and eight quarterback hurries.

I’m calling my shot now — Pierre Allen will end up at least second-team all conference in 2010. 

Nebraska defensive tackle Jared Crick and Texas A&M linebacker Von Miller were selected defensive co-players of the year, and A&M’s Jerrod Johnson was named offensive player of the year on the 2010 preseason All-Big 12 football team chosen by media representatives who cover the conference, according to the Nebraska sports information office.

Oklahoma and Texas led the balloting with six first-team all-conference players apiece, and the defending North Division champion Huskers placed four. In addition to Crick, a first-team All-Big 12 selection last year with 73 tackles and 9.5 sacks, tightend Mike McNeill, defensive back Prince Amukamara and placekicker Alex Henery earned preseason All-Big 12 first-team honors.

One of only three unanimous selections, Crick shared the preseason player of the year honor with Miller, who garnered all-Big 12 and all-America first-team accolades in 2009 when he led the nation in sacks with 17 and ranked fifth in tackles for loss (1.75/game). The hybrid linebacker/defensive end led the Big 12 in sacks, tackles for loss and forced fumbles. 

Johnson was named the preseason squad’s quarterback after earning all-Big 12 second team honors in 2009. The 6-5 senior led the league in total offense with 314.2 yards a game and was fourth in passing (275.3 yards per game).  

Colorado wide receiver Toney Clemons, a transfer from Michigan following the 2008 campaign, was selected the preseason Big 12 newcomer of the year.

2010 Media Preseason All-Big 12 Football Team
Offensive Player of the Year: Jerrod Johnson, Texas A&M (QB, 6-5, 243, Sr/3L, Humble, Texas)
Defensive Co-Players of the Year: Jared Crick, Nebraska (DL, 6-6, 285, Jr, 2L, Cozad, Neb.) and Von Miller, Texas A&M (DE/LB, 6-3, 240, Sr/3L, DeSoto, Texas)
Newcomer of the Year: Toney Clemons, Colorado (WR, 6-2, 205, Jr/TR, New Kensington, Pa.)

Pos    Name                                 School                      Ht              Wt         Cl/Exp             Hometown
WR    Ryan Broyles2                   Oklahoma                  5-11            178          Jr/2L          Norman, Okla.                     
TE     Mike McNeill                      Nebraska                   6-4             235          Sr/3L              Kirkwood, Mo.
OL     Nate Solder1                      Colorado                   6-9             300          Sr/3L              Buena Vista, Calif.
OL     Ryan Miller                        Colorado                   6-8             310          Jr/3L              Littleton, Colo.
C       Tim Barnes                        Missouri                    6-4             310          Sr/3L              Longwood, Mo.
OL     Tanner Hawkinson               Kansas                     6-6             293         So/1L              McPherson, Kan.    
OL     Stephen Good                  Oklahoma                   6-6             291          Jr/2L              Paris, Texas
OL     Kyle Hix                              Texas                      6-7             325          Sr/3L              Aledo, Texas
WR    Jeff Fuller                       Texas A&M                  6-4             215          Jr/2L              McKinney, Texas
QB     Jerrod Johnson2              Texas A&M                  6-5             243          Sr/3L              Humble, Texas
RB     Daniel Thomas1              Kansas State                6-2             228          Sr/1L              Hilliard, Fla.
RB     DeMarco Murray^2             Oklahoma                   6-1             214          Sr/3L              Las Vegas, Nev.
PK     Alex Henery^2                    Nebraska                   6-2             175          Sr/3L              Omaha, Neb.
KR     Cyrus Gray                      Texas A&M                 5-10            196          Jr/2L              DeSoto, TexasDefense
DL     Aldon Smith                      Missouri                    6-5             255         So/1L              Raytown, Mo.
DL     Jared Crick1                       Nebraska                   6-6             285          Jr/2L              Cozad, Neb.
DL     Jeremy Beal2                    Oklahoma                   6-3             261          Sr/3L              Carrollton, Texas
DL     Sam Acho                           Texas                      6-3             260          Sr/3L              Dallas, Texas
LB     Travis Lewis^1                   Oklahoma                   6-2             232          Jr/2L              San Antonio, Texas
LB     Keenan Robinson                Texas                      6-3             239          Jr/2L              Plano, Texas
LB     Von Miller1                       Texas A&M                  6-3             240          Sr/3L              DeSoto, Texas
LB     Brian Duncan                   Texas Tech                  6-1             240          Sr/3L              Baton Rouge, La.
DB     Prince Amukamara1            Nebraska                   6-1             205          Sr/3L              Glendale, Ariz.
DB     Quinton Carter2                 Oklahoma                   6-1             193          Sr/3L              Las Vegas, Nev.
DB     Aaron Williams                     Texas                      6-1             195          Jr/2L              Round Rock, Texas
DB     Curtis Brown                        Texas                      6-0             184          Sr/3L              Gilmer, Texas
DB     Blake Gideon                       Texas                      6-1             205          Jr/2L              Leander, Texas

P     Derek Epperson1                 Baylor                      6-3             235          Sr/3L              Southlake, Texas
PR   Ryan Broyles^                  Oklahoma                  5-11            178          Jr/2L              Norman, Okla.

^ 2009 Preseason Team
1 2009 All-Big 12 First Team selection
2 2009 All-Big 12 Second Team selection
Ties in voting created an additional spot at offensive line, defensive back and linebacker.
Unanimous selections: DL – Jared Crick (NU) and Jeremy Beal (OU); LB – Travis Lewis (OU)

Posted on July 23, 2010, in Pierre Allen. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: