Category Archives: Prince Amukamara

Amukamara Named to Thorpe Award Watch List

Nebraska senior cornerback Prince Amukamara was one of 35 players named to the 2010 Jim Thorpe Award preseason watch list, the Jim Thorpe Association announced on Monday, according to the Nebraska sports information office.

The Jim Thorpe Award, which is presented annually to the best defensive back in college football, marks the second major national award to name Amukamara to its preseason watch list. In June, Amukamara and teammate Jared Crick were among 74 players named to the Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list, which is awarded to the nation’s top defensive player.

The Jim Thorpe Award watch list was determined by analysis of the preseason all-America teams listed in at least six preseason college football annual magazines. Semifinalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 1, with the three finalists being selected on Nov. 22. The winning will be announced during the 2010 ESPN College Football Awards Show on Dec. 9.

Amukamara had a breakout junior season in 2009, earning first-team all-Big 12 honors from the conference coaches and several major media outlets. The defensive back tallied five interceptions to rank second on the team, while leading the Huskers with 11 pass breakups. He also had 64 total tackles and a pair of sacks for a Blackshirt defense that led the nation in pass-efficiency and scoring defense.

Jim Thorpe Award Preseason Watch List
Prince Amukamara, CB, Nebraska
Mark Barron, S, Alabama
Brandon Boykin, CB, Georgia
Curtis Brown, CB, Texas
Kendric Burney, CB, North Carolina
Brandon Burton, CB, Utah
Rashad Carmichael, CB, Virginia Tech
Quinton Carter, S, Oklahoma
Chimdi Chekwa, CB, Ohio State
Don Decicco, S, Pittsburgh
Ras-I Dowling, CB, Virginia
Blake Gideon, S, Texas
Stephen Gilmore, CB, South Carolina
Brandon Harris, CB, Miami
Will Hill, S, Florida
Jermale Hines, S, Ohio State
Brandon Hogan, CB, West Virginia
Davon House, CB, New Mexico State
Duke Ihenacho, S, San Jose State
Jaiquwn Jarrett, S, Temple
Janoris Jenkins, CB, Florida
Jeron Johnson, S, Boise State
Tejay Johnson, S, TCU
Shiloh Keo, S, Idaho
Brian Lainhart, S, Kent State
DeAndre McDaniel, S, Clemson
Rahim Moore, S, UCLA
Johnny Patrick, CB, Louisville
Patrick Peterson, CB, LSU
Tyler Sash, S, Iowa
Robert Sands, S, West Virginia
Jimmy Smith, CB, Colorado
Trevin Wade, CB, Arizona
Deunta Williams, S, North Carolina
Aaron Williams, CB, Texas